Top Ten Historical Romances For 2011!

The end of the year is always a great time to review the past year and all the successes and failures…

This year has been a particularly great year for romance with a bunch of new releases which have garnered lots of great reviews.

:D

It was so hard picking a few good ones as there were several great romances out this year. But these ten (and two honorarys) were the best of the best! They appear in order of publication.

So, here is Historical Romance Addict’s first Top Ten list for The Top Ten Romances for 2011!

1) What I Did For A Duke by Julie Anne Long (Book 5 in Pennyroyal Green series)

Click cover for more info!

Avon (February 22, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.6/5

2) Midnight’s Wild Passion by Anna Campbell

Click cover for more info!

Avon (April 26, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.4

Review:

http://romanceaddict91.wordpress.com/category/historical-romance-authors/anna-campbell/

3) Wicked in Your Arms by Sophie Jordan (Book 1 in Forgotten Princesses series) Click cover for more info!

Avon (July 26, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.3/5

4) A Midnight Dance by Lila DiPasqua (Book 1 in Fiery Tales series)

Click cover for more info!

Berkley Trade; Original edition (August 2, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.5/5

5) In The Arms of A Marquess by Katherine Ashe (Book 3 in Rogues Of The Sea series)

Click cover for more info!

Avon (August 30, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.6/5

6) One Night in London by Caroline Linden (Book 1 in The Truth About The Duke series)

Click cover for more info!

Avon (August 30, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.4/5

7) Lord and Lady Spy by Shana Galen

Click cover for more info!

Sourcebooks Casablanca (September 6, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.5/5

8 ) Recklessly Yours by Allison Chase (Book 3 in Her Majesty’s Secret Servants Series)

Click cover for more info!

Signet (December 6, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.8/5

9) My Ruthless Prince by Gaelen Foley (Book 4 in Inferno Club series)

Click cover for more info!

Avon (December 27, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.8/5

10) How The Marquess Was Won by Julie Anne Long (Book 6 in Pennyroyal Green series)

Click cover for more info!

Avon (December 27, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.7/5

***

BEST DEBUT FOR 2011:

Secrets of a Proper Countess by Lecia Cornwall

Click cover for more info!

Avon (March 29, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.1/5

Review:

http://romanceaddict91.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/secrets-of-a-proper-countess-by-lecia-cornwall/

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE ADDICTS PERSONAL PICK FOR 2011:

Silk is For Seduction by Loretta Chase (Book 1 in Dressmakers series)

Click cover for more info!

Avon (June 28, 2011)

Average Amazon rating: 4.1/5

Review:

http://romanceaddict91.wordpress.com/2011/07/17/silk-is-for-seduction-by-loretta-chase/

***

What are your top picks for 2011? Comment and share your favorites below!

Published in: on December 30, 2011 at 9:52 PM  Comments (25)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://romanceaddict91.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/top-ten-historical-romances-for-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would add a book that just came out The Duke is Mine by Eloisa James. Also liked Julieanne Maclean’s Seduced by the Highlander, Sabrina Jefferies To Wed a Wild Lord, Elizabeth Hoyt’s Scandalous Desire, Keiran Kramer Cloudy with a Chance of MArriage.

    • Haha, would have liked to add these too but can only pick ten! xD

  2. I would add Grace Burrowes, Soldier and Virtuoso to that list. Wonderful books

    • Ditto! I love La Burrowed books! I crave them!

      • Dang auto-correct!! That’s La Burrowes…

    • I loved that book too!! One of my favorites for 2011!

    • I loved Virtusoso. I really enjoy all of Grace Burrowes books. I laugh, cry and blush when reading her books.

  3. Wow! Great list. My favorites include “Midnight’s Wild Passion” and “Lord and Lady Spy.”

  4. That is a great list I loved A Midnight Dance by Lila DiPasqua
    Shadow Highlander by Donna Grant.
    2012 has some amazing releases also ( rubs hands together)
    Happy New Year.
    Ann/alba

  5. I agree with adding Grace Burrowes’ books – all three (The Soldier, The Virtuoso and Lady Sophia’s Christmas Wish), Eloisa’s The Duke Is Mine (ok anything by Eloisa any year), and anything by Elizabeth Hoyt.

    • Love all of the books, by those authors! Good reads!

  6. I love every book on this list!!!

    GREAT LIST!

  7. oooo Sarah MacLean must be one of my faves. Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart (Love By Numbers, #3)

  8. Hey, wow, what a great list! I’m stoked to be on it. Thank you! Happy New Year! xxx

  9. I’m really happy I found this blog. I’m finding a few books I have not read! Happy New Year & Happy Reading!

    • Thanks so much Lindsey! :) Hope you continue enjoying my blog!

  10. I was hoping I could ask for your help from you or your wonderful readers.

    In 2011, I read 211 books (believe it or not, I do have a full-time busy job, married…I don’t much television), most of them being Regency Romance books. I was reading a series late this summer (I think) that was not complete ( the author was still writing the next book). I was wondering if I give a description to the last book I read from the series you or your fabulous followers could help me figured out who the author is and what the series could be?

    The series is about a Duke and his siblings (No, it’s not the Knights, by Gaelen Foley). In the last book I read was about the Sister’s Duke, finding love. She is the darling of society and feels she can do what she wants, because she is everyones favorite. She begins to publish articles in newspaper (about women’s rights, I think) making her a scandal. Her brother (the Duke) best friend has loved her from a far for a very long time. They begin to have run-in and begin having a relationship (I think the best friends name could start with a G, not sure though). The sister has a shy timid friend that gives her bold friend advice (she wears spectacles). During the book there are moments where the Duke defends the shy timid friend and seeks her out for dances, but they are always interrupted.

    Does anyone know which series this and by whom? I’ve gone through my Kindle library and I can’t seem to figure it out. I’m thinking that next book about the Duke and the shy timid friend and I want to know if it’s out or when it will be. Any ideas??

    Thank You!!!

    • That must by the Bridgerton series by Julie Quinn. The 7 siblings names start with the first 7 letters of the alphabet. The first book was
      The Duke and I. Hope this helps.

  11. Was the book called Never Miss A Chance by Maureen Driscoll which is part of the Kellington Family series. She is just finishing the third book.
    Jayne

    • Yes, that’s the book. Not sure when the next will be out, but if you’re on facebook, Maureen Driscoll has a page and she does post to it with details. I absolutely loved this book!

      • The next book will be “Never Wager Against Love” and will be about Arthur and the spy.

    • That’s it Jayne!!! You’ve solved my mystery! Thank You!!! I’m going to mark it down, so I can remember to get it when it comes out. Again, Thank You! This series has been on my mind for a few weeks!

  12. I HAVE READ SO MANY BOOKS-COULD NOT TELL WHICH WERE MY FAVORITES-BECAUSE THEY ALL WERE. I PURCHASED AS MANY OF BOOKS THAT CAME OUT THIS YEAR-IN GENRE OF HISTORICAL REGENCY, SCOTTISH, WERTERN-SO MANY OF THE AUTHORS OUT THERE, ARE SPLENDID WRITERS. AND I TRY TO KEEP TO THE SERIES, FIRST-THEN INDIVIUAL STORYLINES.

  13. Weird… looks like my comments disappeared. Yes, that was Never Miss a Chance. Her next is Never Wager Against Love and it’s Arthur’s book. Maureen Driscoll has a fan page on fb and posts about her books there.

  14. Going through this,the user is supplied with answers to his queries.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 394 other followers

