Don’t Tempt Me by Loretta Chase

Setting: Regency

Summary:

Spunky English girl overcomes impossible odds and outsmarts heathen villains.

That’s the headline when Zoe Lexham returns to England. After twelve years in the exotic east, she’s shockingly adept in the sensual arts. She knows everything a young lady shouldn’t and nothing she ought to know. She’s a walking scandal, with no hope of a future . . . unless someone can civilize her.

Lucien de Grey, the Duke of Marchmont, is no knight in shining armor. He’s cynical, easily bored, and dangerous to women. He charms, seduces, and leaves them—with parting gifts of expensive jewelry to dry their tears. But good looks, combined with money and rank, makes him welcome everywhere. The most popular bachelor in the Beau Monde can easily save Zoe’s risqué reputation . . . if the wayward beauty doesn’t lead him into temptation, and a passion that could ruin them both.

Click cover for more info

Review:

This is my first time reading a Loretta Chase novel and I have to say that I was looking forward to it. The blurb was promising, and when I snuck a look inside at the sexy stepback, I just knew I had to have it!

Sadly, the book did not live up to my expectations. The writing I had no complaint with as I found it easy, flowing and funny. The problem with the book was the lack of an exciting plot and as well as a lack of a tangible emotional connection between the heroine and hero.

We are told that Zoe is exotic and sensual and yet you never quite got that idea. Her English was practically perfect and she never did anything too over-the-top sexy. We are also told that the Duke of Marchmont is bored easily and never thinks about women other than in terms of pleasure. I also did not see much of this and the way he fell for Zoe was far too quickly and out of character. Most of the time though I felt like I was outside these character’s head-never really understanding them-I wasn’t part of the story much, just reading their adventures as if someone else told them to me.

Most of the time I found myself hurrying towards the end, and when the conflict came, it didn’t shock me at all.

I will mention the things I liked in the novel such as the beginning, which was funny and well written and set the story up nicely. It was a promising beginning. I’m just upset that the rest of the book did not live up to it.

I also enjoyed the historical perspective in it such as the mentioning of Princess Caraboo and the proper procedure for a making your curtsy to the Queen. This part I found interesting and unique as most romances though they are called historical romances very little of the time focus on any actual historical details of the life around them.

Overall, I have to say that I am willing to give another Loretta Chase novel  a try (as I enjoy her writing)but I won’t recommend this one.

Sensuality Level: Very Warm-Sex scenes quite long and not so detailed

Verdict-Just ok if you have nothing better to do on an afternoon but not reccommended

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://romanceaddict91.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/dont-tempt-me-by-loretta-chase/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

