Dark Angel/Lord Carew’s Bride by Mary Balogh

Setting-Regency Period

Summary-

From New York Times bestselling author Mary Balogh come two classic tales of love turned dangerous, set amid the splendor of Regency England—a time rife with passion, betrayal, and intrigue.

DARK ANGEL
Jennifer Winwood has been engaged for five years to a man she hardly knows but believes to be honorable and good: Lord Lionel Kersey. Suddenly, she becomes the quarry of London’s most notorious womanizer, Gabriel Fisher, the Earl of Thornhill. Jennifer has no idea that she is just a pawn in the long-simmering feud between these two headstrong, irresistible men—or that she will become a prize more valuable than revenge.

LORD CAREW’S BRIDE
Jennifer’s cousin Samantha Newman is smarting after she too is toyed with by Lord Kersey. In the midst of her heartbreak, she seeks solace from her new friend, the disabled gardener Hartley Wade. If only she knew that Hartley is secretly Lord Carew, and that he hides more than extraordinary wealth: a passionate secret held deep in his heart that only her love can reveal.

Click cover to order from Amazon

Review-

Ok, I seriously love Mary Balogh. She hasn’t disappointed me with any of her books. She has to be the best writer in Regency romance and I dare anyone to prove her otherwise!

Every book I read, the more I love her and this one was no exception! What makes this book even better is that it’s two books in one and connected with same characters! I love that I can finish one book and just move to the next easy peasy!

Out of the two I have to say that I like the second one best! the first one was your typical rake hero i-hate-you-now-i-love-you story which don’t get me wrong was well done but the second one really intrigued me because the hero was unlike any I had read before and the book was just so true to life and touching.

I could not put this book down. It amazes me that she can keep my interest so long as her stories are generally very simple when broken down. No exciting murders, mystery subplots or even skeletons in the cupboard type thing; just good old fashioned simple love.

Her characters her likable and complex, her dialogue is witty, and her romantic plots always pull at your heartstrings!

I think it also has a lot of it has to do with her writing style-It’s simple and she doesn’t go on for ages about a character’s feelings-you get enough to just completely understand what the hero/heroine is  going through and I think that’s what makes it so fresh and different. She doesn’t over do anything and keeps things simple and the story just comes alive from that!

Not much to be said for the stories except they are utter perfection and so well paced. I did not feel bored for a moment!

I love both sets of protagonists in both books and I’m waiting eagerly to read the next two in one edition!

Sensuality rating-Minimal-Very traditional style Regency romance

Verdict-Seriously, what are you still at home for? Go out and buy this book!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://romanceaddict91.wordpress.com/2010/03/11/dark-angellord-carews-bride-by-mary-balogh/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] stories in this collection are part of a broader linked series that began with Dark Angel/Lord Carew’s Bride. The hero of the first book (The Famous Heroine) was the rejected suitor in Lord Carew’s […]


Leave a Reply

