The Wild Marquis by Miranda Neville

Setting: 1818, Regency

*Book 1 in Burgundy Club series*

Summary: The Marquis of Chase is not a reputable man.

He is notorious for his wretched morals and is never received in respectable houses. The ladies of the ton would never allow him in their drawing rooms . . . though they were more than willing to welcome him into their bedchambers. Ejected from his father’s house at the age of sixteen, he now lives a life of wanton pleasure.

So what could the Marquis of Chase possibly want with Juliana Merton, a lovely, perfectly upstanding shopkeeper with a mysterious past?

A moment’s indiscretion?

A night’s passion?

Or a lifetime of love?

Even the wildest rakes have their weaknesses . . .

Click cover for more info

Review:

The main reason I bought this book was because I loved Miranda’a previous novel and though I had my doubts as to the content of the story, (the back cover wasn’t the most informative  blurb), I bought it anyway because I had some faith in her story-telling ability.

I’m glad I did. What seemed to be a typical rake/wallflower type story was so much more. It was a romance with a huge mystery element in there. The Marquis of Chase is a man who wants to be recognized by his family who unfairly accused him of a crime and then threw him out of the house. So to do that, he tries to get a hold of the Burgundy Hours, a very important manuscript and for that, he acquires the help of Juliana Merton, recent widow and bookseller. Juliana’s husband was murdered and that’s part of the mystery.

I really enjoyed the book as it was more than just a romance-in fact, if I were to categorize it, I would call it a mystery romance. Both characters had secrets of their own and part of the intrigue of the book was finding out what the were and how they would deal with it. It kept me hooked to the pages and I liked how there wasn’t a big misunderstanding plot device as sometimes that can get annoying. The two had a good reason why they couldn’t be together and I loved seeing them work past that. I also loved how all the pieces of the puzzle came together and found it very clever. It wasn’t what I expected at all!

Cain is a great hero and just an all round wonderful guy. One of my favourite parts of the book was when he bought dinner for Juliana, a mark of his thoughtfulness. I loved also how he was determined to see the two of them married and how he supported Juliana and protected her. I could really see how she would fall in love with him 😉

On the other hand, I couldn’t really feel the same for Juliana. She was a great heroine but I didn’t really see anything particularly special about her that Cain would fall madly in love with her. The reason could have been better portrayed or spelt out. I also disagreed with how easily she fell into bed with Cain and thought it a little too fast.

Their romance was sweet and developed well though.

Miranda Neville also has a great way of adding history to a romance which is perfect cause most of the time historical romances don’t really focus on the historical background as compared to the romance and passion. Neville’s first book focused on cooking and food of that time period (and was amazing read) and this one focused on book auctioning and bibliophilia which I didn’t know was such a big thing at that time. So, a great romance and a history lesson? Me likeee!

Sensuality Level: Warm (The love scenes were not long and weren’t explicit)

Verdict: Strong mystery romance from a great writer. Every historical romance fan should pick this one up!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://romanceaddict91.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/the-wild-marquis-by-miranda-neville/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

