Movie Rave: The Incredible Journey of Mary Bryant

I remember seeing clips of this movie wayyyy back in 2006 on the Hallmark Channel and have been meaning to watch the whole thing. I recently developed a love for Romola Garai who I had seen perform marvelously in other period dramas, like Daniel Deronda, Angel and Emma.

When I got to watch this movie at last, I was so happy I did. It is seriously one of the best period dramas/historical adventure movies I have ever seen. I was literally GLUED to my seat, so into the story I didn’t take note of the time! I think it was also because the movie itself was so fast-paced, it didn’t leave time for the viewer to relax! Romola outdoes herself here as a young English convict who would do anything to be free. The story is based on true events and revolves around her attempt to escape from her prison on what would later be Australia.

The acting overall was brilliant, the settings were beautiful and realistic, the story was unpredictable and intriguing, but I have to say the best part of the whole show was Jack Davenport who plays a British naval officer who Mary uses to escape.He did a brilliant job acting as the man who falls for Mary and wants to help her despite her being ‘the enemy’ so to speak. I felt so bad for him and was just so hooked on his complicated character. I really wanted him and Mary to end up together.

The story was also very inspiring as we discover at the start that Romola’s character wasn’t a villain and was just doing whatever she could to survive harsh circumstances. Her determiniation to survive was inspring and although I didn’t agree with some of the things she did, she would never have survived if she hadn’t. She was really someone who did whatever it took and it led to her finally escaping!

Overall, this was an amazing drama, truly top-notch. I’m not sure how accurate the story was, but it was so well-told, I couldn’t help but love it. It stayed with me long after I saw it and I’m dying to see it once more! If you ever get the chance to watch this, do! You won’t regret it!

Historical Drama Rating: 5 out 5!

Sexiness Rating: 5 out 5-Seriously, with the two leading men being Jack Davenport and Alex O’Loughlin, how can you go wrong? (And guys, Romola Garai is simply lovely here :P)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://romanceaddict91.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/movie-rave-the-incredible-journey-of-mary-bryant/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi,

    I’m taking a tour of your website so had to stop by and let you know how much I just loved this movie. JD was AWESOME in it, but then again he’s awesome in anything. I wanted them to end up together also 😦

    BTW: Have you seen “Jane Eyre” with Toby Stephens? I got it this Christmas from my son, and I can watch it over & over….Give me Toby anytime 🙂

    BTW: Are you watching Downtown Abby on PBS? They had four episodes only, but I think you’d love it.

    OK, off I go touring the rest of your site 🙂

    Mel

    • I have seen Jane Eyre! And yes, I loved Toby Stephens in that, Mmmm 8) I’ve also seen Downton Abbey and loved it! Exactly my kind of show!

  2. A person necessarily lend a hand to make significantly articles I might
    state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and so
    far? I surprised with the analysis you made to create
    this actual submit extraordinary. Excellent job!

  3. Hi there all, here every person is sharing such knowledge, thus it’s fastidious to read this blog, and I used to go to see this web site everyday.
    wartrol, buy wartrol, wartrol reviews, wartrol review, wartrol scam, does wartrol work, best wart removal,best wart remover,best wart treatment,best way to remove warts,buy wartrol,common wart removal,common warts,compound w,cryotherapy for warts,cure for herpes,cure for hpv,cure for warts,does wartrol work,duct tape wart,duct tape wart removal,duct tape warts,face wart removal,face warts,facial warts,flat wart removal,flat wart treatment,flat warts,flat warts on face,foot wart,foot wart removal,foot warts,freeze warts,freezing warts,genatal warts,general warts,genetal warts,genetial warts,genitial warts,genitle warts,gental warts,gential warts,get rid of warts,getting rid of warts,hand warts,herpes treatment,home remedies for wart removal,home remedies for warts,home remedy for warts,home wart removal,how do you get warts,how to cure warts,how to get rid of warts,how to remove a wart,how to remove moles,how to remove wart,how to remove warts,how to remove warts fast,how to treat a wart,how to treat warts,hpv cure,hpv in men,hpv treatment,hpv treatment for men,hpv wart removal,hpv warts,hpv warts treatment,human papillomavirus,human papillomavirus treatment,imiquimod cream,laser mole removal,laser wart removal,liquid nitrogen for warts,liquid nitrogen warts,liquid wart remover,mole removal,mole removal cost,mole removal cream,natural remedies for warts,natural remedy,natural wart remedy,natural wart removal,natural wart remover,over the counter wart removal,perianal warts,pictures of warts,plantar wart,plantar wart removal,plantar wart treatment,plantar warts,plantar warts removal,plantar warts treatment,plantars wart,plantars wart treatment,planters wart,planters wart removal,planters wart treatment,planters warts,planters warts treatment,remove wart,remove warts,removing moles,removing warts,salicylic acid for warts,salicylic acid warts,seborrheic keratosis,skin tag removal,skin tags removal,skin warts,std warts,thuja occidentalis warts,treating warts,treatment for herpes,treatment for hpv,treatment for hpv in men,treatment for plantar warts,treatment for warts,treatment of hpv,treatment of warts,types of warts,veneral warts,venereal warts,viral warts,wart and mole vanish,wart cream,wart freeze,wart freezing,wart mole vanish,wart off,wart on finger,wart remedies,wart remedy,wart removal,wart removal cream,wart removal freeze,wart removal home remedies,wart removal products,wart removal remedies,wart removal surgery,wart remover,wart removers,wart treatment,wart treatments,wart virus,wartec,wartol,wartrol,wartrol doesn t work,wartrol in stores,wartrol review,wartrol reviews,wartrol scam,warts,warts causes,warts contagious,warts duct tape,warts how to get rid of,warts in mouth,warts on arms,warts on face,warts on feet,warts on fingers,warts on hands,warts on legs,warts on neck,warts on scalp,warts pictures,warts removal,warts treatment,water warts,what are warts,what causes warts,what causes warts on hands,what is wart,what is warts,where to buy wartrol,worts


Leave a Reply

